Let the street do its job

I started writing this blog exactly a year ago. One of my first posts was called “Let the street do its job” in which I wrote about how it’s important to have patience and pay attention instead of forcing the street to give me something to shoot. I carry my camera everywhere I go and it seems that just because I have a camera with me that the opportunity for a good shot will present itself every time I go somewhere. But it doesn’t really work that way. There are plenty of times that even though there are lots of people around and I have the camera ready “nothing happens”. The reality is that I don’t see it.

-

“Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known”. – Carl Sagan

-

(C) Juan Jose Reyes

(C) Juan Jose Reyes

I still feel that because I have the camera ready I have to take pictures every time . And I realize now that it is not the best approach to street photography because I am rushing myself to get something and when I rush it is harder to see the good things happening. It is almost like I expect the street to give me something every time. But it doesn’t work that way.

(C) Juan Jose Reyes

(C) Juan Jose Reyes

-

“Life was always a matter of waiting for the right moment to act”. – Paulo Coelho

-

(C) Juan Jose Reyes

(C) Juan Jose Reyes

-

“To look at a thing is very different from seeing it.” – Oscar Wilde

-

(C) Juan Jose Reyes

(C) Juan Jose Reyes

The street will always give me something. All we have to do is pay attention and let the street do its job.

JJR

All images on this post are (C) Juan Jose Reyes. All rights reserved.

4 thoughts on “Let the street do its job

  1. its interesting to see the streets being coloured by the sun at different times , giving it varying depths of mystery and the people therein their character.

  2. Congratulations Juan..a year of good solid and great photography and some great advice. i was thinking just yesterday about the idea of just going slow and letting the images come to me. I sometimes rush too. Other times I am walking so slowly I think people must think I am a monk doing a walking meditation. But it is the best way. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

