Carl Jung at the train station

Lately, I have been taking the train from Fort Lauderdale to Miami in an effort not only to avoid the stress of driving on I-95 but also to help out with the environment.  To my surprise it has become a great photographic experience because  I take the train either in the early morning or late afternoon and it gives me the opportunity to be on a train station, full of people with wonderful sunlight. Perfect for street photography. I don’t even mind, for the most part, if the trains are late because it just gives me more time to shoot with my Fuji X-100. The pictures in this post are samples of what I have shot in the past few weeks at the Tri-Rail station in Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

“A photographer must be prepared to catch and hold on to those elements which give distinction to the subject or lend it atmosphere, like the shadows cast by a setting sun. Sometimes they are a matter of luck, sometimes they are a matter of patience”.- Bill Brandt

Street photography, like the street itself, is an evolving process but I feel that during that process there will be long periods of time that my photographs will have some common elements that may be called a “style” and maybe those elements will be carried over to every phase of my photography. Maybe that’s what people refer to as a style. I don’t know.  What I do know is that I don’t want to come to a point where I move away from risk and exploration because I’m constrained by my “style”. At the same time  I’m very interested in identifying those common elements that may repeat in my photographs and what I’ve noticed is that they are heavily influenced by what interests me at the moment, because what interests me guides what I feel I need to shoot.

An example of this is what is happening when I am taking pictures at the train station. Recently I have been reading about psychologist Carl Jung’s concept of “the shadow”. According to Jung we all have a dark side in our personality that lives in the unconscious and is part of our selves. He calls that the shadow. It is very interesting and makes you think about who we really are and why we do the things we do. I noticed that since I started reading about this I have been concentrating on capturing more shadows casted on the subjects in my images. It makes the subject more interesting to me. Maybe because if we all have a dark side or “shadow” I feel that I’m capturing a more accurate description of a person this way than if I take a picture with the subject completely in the light? I don’t’ know. It’s very interesting to me, and maybe a little weird, I know.

“To confront a person with his Shadow is to show him his own light”. – Carl Jung

I will keep posting more in the next few weeks and I would like to hear your comments about what interests you on the streets. Do you have a style? Do we need a style?

Thanks for reading

JJR

5 thoughts on “Carl Jung at the train station

Leave a Reply

