Waiting for the train

As part of the street photography project on the train line between Miami and Fort Lauderdale I have plenty of opportunities to pay attention to people waiting for the trains. The Fort Lauderdale Tri-Rail station is an outdoor station (in fact all the train and metro stations in south Florida are outdoors and above ground) so with some luck and a lot of patience interesting opportunities may arise. These are some of the images I captured during the process.

“I do what I feel, that’s all, I am an ordinary photographer working for his own pleasure. That’s all I’ve ever done.”Andre Kertesz

 juan jose reyes

(C) juan jose reyes

 juan jose reyes street photography

The things that people do, or not do,  while waiting  is a fertile ground for street photographers. We all try to fill those moments when we’re waiting for something with some other thing, as if the act of just being still without any activity would  somehow make us look lazy or just plain weird. The default activity when waiting is to check our phones and I try really hard not to capture people on their cellphones on my shots but is virtually impossible nowadays when shooting people on the street. So I just wait, until they put that phone away and hopefully I can catch a glimpse of their lives to share them with you.

“You see something happening and you bang away at it. Either you get what you saw or you get something else–and whichever is better you print. “- Garry Winogrand

juan jose reyes street photography

(C) juan jose reyes

(C) juan jose reyes

“I don’t believe a person has a style. What people have is a way of photographing what is inside them. What is there comes out. “– Sebastiao Salgado

(C) juan jose reyes

(C) juan jose reyes

(C) juan jose reyes

I hope you enjoyed the pictures, I certainly had fun making them. I welcome all comments and suggestions.

JJR

One thought on “Waiting for the train

  1. Nice images here. My favorites are the first and the last. The first because there are several scenes going on at the same time and each one could stand on its own, but the fact that they’re all together makes the image way more interesting. The last one is almost as if he were modeling for you … perfect timing 🙂

Leave a Reply

