Doing my “visual push-ups”

A major element in Street Photography is luck, no doubt about it. But as golfer Gary Player once said, “The more I practice, the luckier I get”. So it all comes down to practicing, but how much practice do we need?  Well, according to Malcolm Gladwell, author of the best-selling book Outliers, in order to become an expert in any field one must practice at least ten thousand hours.

If we apply this to photography it could mean taking 10,000 pictures or it could mean posting/displaying 10,000 pictures. The reason for that is because with digital cameras it is not hard to take 10,000 pictures, the hardest part is to edit our work and select 10,000 pictures.

Jay Maisel calls this process of shooting/editing/improving, “visual push-ups”. It requires patience and discipline but it allows us to become a better critic of our work. It is hard to put ourselves in a vulnerable position by posting images that sometimes we don’t feel too strong about. But is part of the 10,000 pictures rule and as Cartier-Bresson said, “your first ten thousand photographs are your worst”

The following images are my “visual push-ups” from last month.

 

 

 

 –

Of course it’s all luck”. – Henri Cartier-Bresson

 

“Your first 10,000 photographs are your worst”.

– Henri Cartier-Bresson

 

Hope you enjoyed them. As usual, any feedback or comments are appreciated .

Thanks for visiting

JJR

3 thoughts on “Doing my “visual push-ups”

  1. I recently purchased a book that I ensured had a healthy selection of pictures I did not like. It is important to me, and still is to know why some pictures are thought of as exceptional and some are not. After digesting some of the pictures and write ups I am no farther forward. I still don’t like some of them and can’t accept why I should. My thought are that clearly I don’t have to. Some pictures reach popular appeal some do not. Also the ones that don’t contain some of the deeper meaning and artistry. But yet it is all still subjective. Its a bit of a bummer really cause I would love Lightroom to rate my pictures. That would be a killer feature. Or would it? Anyway, I think your guns must be really looking good cause your push ups are very good. 2# 4# 5# I would say are exceptional. 1# could probably go in my book:) for very serious study:)

Leave a Reply

