Visual Push-ups #2: The beach, a van and the Buddha

The advantage of using a small camera for street photography, besides significantly less neck and back pain, is that I can take it everywhere I go. This eliminates, or at least alleviates,  the “I don’t have time to go out shooting”  dilemma because I’m always shooting. This is important because we need to practice often to train our eye. It’s what Jay Maisel calls doing visual push-ups. The following images are my recent visual push-ups, all shot with my Fuji X100 in the Miami-Ft Lauderdale area.

Great photography is always on the edge of failure.” – Garry Winogrand

(C) Juan Jose Reyes

(C) Juan Jose Reyes

(C) Juan Jose Reyes

“I am at war with the obvious.William Eggleston

(C) Juan Jose Reyes

(C) Juan Jose Reyes

(C) Juan Jose Reyes

“I wish more people felt that photography was an adventure the same as life itself and felt that their individual feelings were worth expressing. To me, that makes photography more exciting.” – Harry Callahan

(C) Juan Jose Reyes

“The belief is once you buy a camera you are photographer. SO that means if I buy a Cello…… I own a cello.” – Vincent Versace

I hope you enjoyed mi images. As usual comments are welcome.

JJR

All images on this post are (C) Juan Jose Reyes. All rights reserved

8 thoughts on “Visual Push-ups #2: The beach, a van and the Buddha

  1. I like all of these Juan, especially 1,2, 5, 6, 7. Very high quality and controlled comps. My wife needed a new camera for real estate so I recommended a Samsung EX2F w/ 24-80 (equiv) f.1.4 lens. I added an optical VF and now she has to ask me to borrow the camera 😉

  2. I’m enjoying your pictures so much! The ones that make you think “what the hell is going on here?” I like the most. I’m reading up a bit on street photography because I’d like to start with that, and ended up on your site. I like your posts a lot so I’ll keep checking every once in a while, thanks for sharing all your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

